University of North Texas (UNT) was founded on Sept. 16, 1890 with the name Texas Normal College and Teacher Training Institute. During 125 years, the University of North Texas has fulfilled its mission to create leaders and visionaries.

From humble origins in a rented space above a hardware store in downtown Denton, UNT has grown into one of the nation’s largest public universities and the largest in the North Texas region. UNT is a thriving public university with 38,000 students and a path to any career. As an intellectual and economic engine for Denton, the greater North Texas region and the state, UNT fuels progress and entrepreneurship. And as a catalyst for creativity, UNT launches new ideas, perspectives and innovations.

The school programs are nationally and internationally recognized. Research and scholarship spans the arts, science, engineering and everything in between. UNT’s world-class faculty is making breakthroughs every day. Students and alumni are changing the world around them for the better.

UNT has various departments such as College of Business, College of Education, College of Engineering, College of Information, College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences, College of Music, Hospitality and Tourism, College of Health and Public Service, College of Science, College of Visual Art & Design,…


The University of North Texas (UNT) is a public research university based in Denton with programs in natural, formal, and social sciences, engineering, liberal arts, fine arts, performing arts, humanities, public policy, graduate professional education, and post-doc research. Ten colleges, two schools, an early admissions math and science academy for exceptional high-school-age students from across the state, and a library system comprise the university core. Its research is driven by about 34 doctoral degree programs. During the 2013–2014 school year, the university had a budget of $865 million, of which $40 million was allocated for research.North Texas was founded as a nonsectarian, coeducational, private teachers college in 1890; and, as a collaborative development in response to enrollment growth and public demand, its trustees ceded control to the state in 1899. In 1901, North Texas was formally adopted by the state. UNT is the flagship institution of the University of North Texas System, which includes additional universities in Dallas and Fort Worth. UNT also has a satellite campus in Frisco.


On behalf of the state, the university, in its civic advocacy for the state, prevailed with three new-location, capital-intensive expansions over the last forty-two years.

The university acquired in 1975 and subsequently developed a medical school in Fort Worth
The university created a campus in South Dallas in 2000
The university laid the groundwork for establishing the first and only public law school in the region
In 1981, the university spun off its new medical school as its own independent institution under the UNT Board of Regents.[16] In 2009, the University of North Texas at Dallas became its own independent institution. That same year, the Texas legislature approved the creation of University of North Texas at Dallas College of Law, opening in 2014 in Downtown Dallas as part of UNT Dallas. UNT and its three sister institutions are governed by the University of North Texas System, a system established in 1980 by the Board of Regents and legislatively recognized in 2003 by the 78th Texas Legislature.

Hurley Administration Building
In 2004, North Texas opened UNT Discovery Park – 290 acres (1.2 km2) – in Denton, north of the main campus with technology incubator facilities dedicated to science and engineering. In 2011, the College of Visual Arts and Design launched the Design Research Center in downtown Dallas in the Design District as a laboratory dedicated to design-driven solutions in a community of real-world professionals.



The University of North Texas is a comprehensive university that offers many scholarships to help you finance your education. Many students compete for scholarships, which are awarded on merit and on a first-come, first-served basis to students enrolling in the fall term. We recommend you apply to UNT as early as possible.

First-time Student Scholarships

UNT Excellence Scholarships are available to entering freshman who are in the top 50% of their high school graduating class and score at least 1100 on the SAT (Math/Reading Sections) or 24 on the ACT. International students admitted as entering freshman are also considered for these scholarships based on the required high school rank and test scores noted.

Entering freshmen admitted for the fall term immediately following high school graduation are evaluated for scholarship awards based on completed admission and scholarship applications. UNT will continue to award these scholarships for the academic year (fall/spring) based on available funding, with priority consideration given to the earliest applicants. Students should ensure their most current transcripts and test scores are updated with UNT Admissions.

Awards range from $3,000 to 8,000 per year based on high school rank and test scores.

Transfer scholarship

UNT Transfer Scholarships are available for students transferring from a community college or an accredited university with a cumulative 3.0 transfer GPA and a minimum of 45 attempted credit hours but less than 120 hours. Attempted hours exclude credit hours earned from AP, CLEP, military, etc.

Awards range from $1,000 to $3,000 per year based on transfer cumulative grade point average (GPA).


  • 68# Academic programs ranked among the nation’s Top 100
  • 16# U.S. News & World Reportrankings in the Top 100